My favourite books of 2016

It’s time for the obligatory favourite books of 2016 post (as we all kick 2016 in the butt on the way out, heh).

Total number of books read this year: 176

Favourites (bearing in mind that I can’t talk about books which are current entries for the panel of the Aurealis Awards which I’m judging):

pillow-friend

 

The Pillow Friend by Lisa Tuttle.

Read due to it being reviewed on The Writer and the Critic. This has quickly become one of my favourite books of all time, and I’m going to have to hunt up more of Tuttle’s work.

 

 

 

story-geniusStory Genius by Lisa Cron

Read mostly because I’d read Cron’s earlier book, Wired for Story. I have a habit of accumulating a lot of writing books, and this last year, I’ve been slowly working my way through a lot of what’s on my shelf. This has been the best of them.

 

 

 

head-full-of-ghosts
A Head Full of Ghosts by Paul Tremblay

Another one read due to The Writer and the Critic. The first Tremblay I’ve read (I think) but it’s not going to be the last. I still find myself thinking about this one at odd times.

 

 

 

 

drownedworlds

Drowned Worlds edited by Jonathan Strahan

Easiest my favourite anthology of the year, and I think one of Strahan’s best. Go and read this one if you haven’t.

 

 

 

 

 

dig-world

Dig World by Bajo and Hex (and the sequel, Dragon Land)

Read both of these two with my seven-year-old, who is computer game mad (unsurprising, given his parents) and a big fan of Good Game and Bajo and Hex (and got to meet them both this year and get the first book signed!). I cannot rave enough about these books, which I think are going to get a lot of reluctant readers interested in books. If you have kids, grab these.

 

roses-and-rot

Roses and Rot by Kat Howard

If I could live in a book, it would be this one. Very much in the vein of Pamela Dean’s Tam Lin, so if you’re a fan of that, you should read this.

 

 

 

 

raven-boys

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

I read the whole of the Raven Cycle and while I don’t think the whole series quite stuck the landing, I know that I’m still going to be rereading them a fair bit.

 

 

 

 

defyingdoomsday

Defying Doomsday edited by Tsana Dolichva and Holly Kench

Disclaimer: I have a story in this.

I am still haunted in particular by the Seanan McGuire story in this.

 

 

 

uprooted

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

I have to confess that this is the first Novik that I’ve read. I devoured this in the span of an afternoon, which is a rare thing for me in adulthood.

 

 

 

 

25692886

Borderline by Mishell Baker

I don’t have the words for how much I adore this world, and I am making grabby hands for the next books.

 

 

 

 

 

birds-sky

All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders

Also, I am with the lack of words for just how amazing this book is. It’s the kind of book that makes me wish I could write, and pretty much cements me as a lifelong fan of Anders.

 

 

 

 

illuminae

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

I was on the Aurealis panel which awarded this Best Science Fiction Novel, and it is so deserving of the award. I have the sequel sitting on my TBR mountain, waiting until I’m done with this year’s Aurealis reading.

This entry was posted in 2016 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

